India Epilogue

India Conference Panorama “Danger Shot”

It’s now St. Valentine’s Day and a month after I made it to India for my short period. I have been down with a sickness since I have returned which has contributed to a fond distaste for, as my friend referred to it, The Dirt Continent.

The past 3 weeks have been roughly like this each day:

7:00 am – 9:00 am
An instant surge of energy rushes through my veins making me immediately alert to the world at large. All of my senses are primed and ready to function except for my vision. I try and try but I can’t see a bloody thing, and it’s painful to try and open my eyes. I stage into the bathroom peering through the closed venetians of my eyelashes in an attempt to solve this crisis. I open my eyes as much as I can only to notice that my eyelashes are completely caked with the largest amount of eye boogers I ever thought possible. Caked. I grab some toilet paper and wet it under the sink to loosen the hold on me lashes.

20 minutes later I cough up a quarter sized mucus globule into the sink after a series of spasms and chokes that make my eyes tear up. Every third morning or so I will have a sore throat. I will definitely have a sore throat if I’ve had one beer or been in a smoky environment. No clubbing for me.

9:00 am – 12:00 pm
After throwing down some breakfast and coffee, I’ll start working on the 5,000 or so photos I took in India. It starts off pleasurable each morning but quickly becomes tiring after staring at the monitor for so long. I try and drink a lot of water but end up forgetting most of the time. Officially I have a bronchial stem infection (non-contagious) which is like a nasty cold that seeped down to that tree trunk looking thing between your airbags. This is the second time I’ve had this (1st-cambodia) and while this one was not intially as bad, it has lasted much longer; perhaps the colder weather has not helped. I also have a resistance to antibiotics (in that I find them unnecessary unless it’s obviously needed) and have been cramming the Vitamin C, Superfood, Immuplex, Congaplex, Orange Juice, Tea, and small portions of Colloidal Silver – which may or may not be glorified snake oil, and which will definitely turn you blue if you over do it. Don’t get me wrong, I’m not some fruity hippy, I just don’t like pumping pharmac’s into me if I feel mostly decent.

12:00 pm – 5:00 pm
After trying to at least take a walk outside, I will come back in and partake in some lunch, work on more photos, become weary again, and try to do the pyramid/navy seals exercise I’ve been doing for the past few years. Amazingly, I don’t struggle with it that much in this state but it’s not until I’m sitting down again that I become really fatigued. Depending on how much work I have or how motivated I am, I will start to read and promptly fall asleep for 30 min’s to 3 hr’s (my record so far). Back to the sink for the eye de-boogering and then dinner time.

It’s not as pathetic as it sounds and of course, most days have many other different activities involved as well, but there was probably a solid week of this after I had slept and not done jack for the first week. I’d say I’m about 83% back to myself. I don’t have as much endurance climbing or running but hopefully that will change when it becomes a little warmer.

I love these international trips but it really equals out to a super low freelance rate if it takes me out for this much time afterwards. That being said, it’s really the experience of going and seeing things that many Americans only see a glorified glimpse of in movies and television. I think about that alot as well while traveling, how the entertainment industry sets up these funny preconceived notions you may have about foreign countries. Like, believe it or not, there are absolutely no 7-11’s in India. Amazing!

Right now I’m working on my Design/Photography portfolio so I can make the incoming $$$ as steady as the outgoing $$$. I am super blessed to be in the position I am in right now and pray to God everyday for my ability to recognize this and motivate myself to make the most out of every freaking second. I find it has helped me a tremendous amount lately to settle down right when I wake up and spend some time thinking about life and talking to Him while the sunshine begins to pour through my window and my roommates dog begins his insanely horrible ‘I-have-to-pee-poop-humpsomething’ whine.

Germany & California seem to be the choices for my spring traveling and I have to decide shortly which one I will entertain. More on this as it develops.

In other news, I’m going to Radiohead. Yes. Wonderful.

Leave a Reply

